skip to Main Content
NBA Abuja Branch Holds A Magnificent Night Of Tributes In Honor Of Late.Hon. Justice Jude O. Okeke

The Nigerian Bar Association Abuja Branch (Unity Bar) has held a magnificent Night of tributes in honor of its past Chairman, Hon. Justice Jude O. Okeke, FICMC at the Abuja Ecumenical Center.

The Chairman of the Branch, Ms Hauwa Shekarau opened her welcome address with a saying by Williams Shakespeare “Cowards die many deaths before their time, the valiant never taste their deaths but once, it seems to me that most men. It seems to me most strange that men should fear, seeing that death, a necessary end will come when it will come.”

(Left) NBA Abuja Branch Chairman, Ms Hauwa Shekarau and Chief Mrs Victoria Awomolo SAN

She welcomes all in attendance and stated that it was a rude shock for many who had communicated with Late Hon. Justice Okeke a few days preceding his demise.

Ms Shekarau stated that the Late Hon. Justice Okeke was an outstanding gentleman and he loved all that cane into contact with him. She added that to the Unity Bar he was a trail blazer and a reference point having served without blemish as a bar man and on the bench. “He was indeed a worthy ambassador of the bar on the bench.”

Cross section of lawyers and judges at the Night of Tributes

She further stated that the night of tribute is the Branch’s way of appreciating God for his short life spent with them.

Ms Shekarau ended her address with a quote from Maya Angelou “A great soul serves everyone all the time, A great soul never dies but brings us together again and again.”

Finally she said “Hon justice Jude O. Okeke lives on in our hearts.”

The night of Tributes was attended by Judges, Senior Advocates of Nigeria, Past Chairmen of NBA Abuja Branch, lawyers from the Unity Bar and lawyers from all over Nigeria.

Notable senior advocates at the event were, Joe Kyari Gadzama SAN, P.O. Okolo SAN, Ibrahim Mark SAN, Prof. Peter Akper SAN, J.S. Okutepa SAN, P.I.N. Ikwueto SAN, Ola Olanipekun SAN, Ikechukwu Ezechukwu SAN, Isaiah Bozino SAN, Chief Chris Uche SAN, Paul Idornigie SAN, Hassan Ishaya SAN, Chukwuma-Machukwu Ume, J.U.K. Igwe SAN, K.C.O. Njemanze SAN, J.O. Asom Uja SAN and Prof. Yemi Akinseye-George SAN.

The President of the Court of Appeal was represented by Hon. Justice Yargata Nimpar. Hon. Justice Adeniyi represented the Chief Judge of the FCT High Court. The Chief Judge of the Federal High Court was represented by Hon. Justice Abang.

In attendance were Hon. Justice Nwagboso from Imo State Judiciary, Justice Benson Ogbu of the High Court of Ebonyi State, Hon. Justice I.M. Njaka of the High court of Imo State, Hon. Justice Jaja Maryam of the Customary Court of Appeal and Hon. Justice Chikere A.I. of the Federal High Court Abuja.

Also in attendance was former General Secretary of the NBA Jonathan G. Taidi.

Lex Community
Author: Lex Community

This Post Has 0 Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back To Top
error: Content is protected !!